New Zealand Sub-Antarctic Islands World Heritage Area

The New Zealand Sub-Antarctic Islands are a collection of islands in the Southern Ocean: the Snares, Bounty Islands, Antipodes Islands, Auckland Islands, and Campbell Island.

The islands are havens for seabirds and unique variants on mainland species, such as the Antipodes Island Parakeet. Another notable feature of the islands are the megaherbs: large-leaved and colourful ground-dwelling plants.

The islands may be visited by permit only, and several boat cruises are available. 

765 square kilometres
ID 8766

About this place

Added 11 September 2013 by matthewmatthew. No revisions.
19 views in the past year (2 per month).